I’m Organized – Right?

14 04 2012

I like to think that for a middle-aged co-ed organization (or lack thereof) isn’t an issue. After all, we’ve had years to perfect and refine our organization systems.

This week, a blog I follow mentioned that checking out our Myers-Briggs personality results might help us become more organized. Click here to read that story: http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/stress-less-write-more/

I have to admit that I was slightly chagrined that after spending eight weeks studying personality, I hadn’t thought of that connection. Whoops! I think I focus too much on getting the work done so I can pass ace the class, making forming interesting hypotheses like the one Ms. Lamb proposed less likely.

Personality leads to purpose

The point of making the connection between your personality type and its alter-ego is so you will set personal goals. Or maybe the point is that you’ll face your weaknesses with renewed vigor. In either case, forward progress toward success is the intention. I find that I set my goals too high so discouragement overwhelms me into complacency. Either that or I give myself too many lofty goals at one time.

I think the problem could be that I have a Type A brain inside a Type B body. My mind generates thousands of incredible ideas each day, but the time (or perhaps energy) to act upon them exists in an alternate universe. Or somewhere else rather than with me in the here and now.

The irony of this is that I figured once I had an empty nest, there would be time aplenty to accomplish every whim my heart concocted. When my kids were younger (both of them in elementary school), I whittled down a lengthy to-do list each day. Of course, I didn’t have a full-time job and I wasn’t a student either. (Does that sound like rationalization or justification?) Now, the rooms may be empty but I’m tied to my computer and my textbooks if I’m not at the school working.

This looks like the desk of an organized person, right?

Time for another reality check. When I graduate from college in May 2013 (I’m grinning like a fool here!!), maybe that sort of vision will manifest itself. For now, I’m happy if I can find what I need on my desk, if my computer works as expected and I get eight hours of sleep per night.  Have I set my expectations too low?


Actions

Information

Share your thoughts here:




Deeper Growth

Spiritual Growth Coaching for Women and Authors

Mimi On Life

It's always a story with the Hendersons!

Bayard & Holmes

If you're in a fair fight, you're using poor tactics.

Faye E. Arcand

I am a Writer and Author--a mom, an auntie, a friend. I am me.

A Pew Perspective

Insights on Scripture from a Member of New Hope MBC

Always The Write Time Blog

by CHRIS MADAY SCHMIDT

Edits By Stacey

Pen*Polish*Publish

Musings by Connie

Balancing a healthy lifestyle

Lost Pen Magazine

Find Your Voice, Then Share It

Simply Gracie Girl

Adventuring Since 1997

michelle ziegler

In a world of serious, I write an escape

Roane Publishing Blog

Without authors, there'd be no publishers.

Raw Moments with a Real God

Being Transparent with an Intimate God

Becky Bean Writes

The Blog of Becky: How Not to Live Your Life

Bex Book Nook

Where books like to hang out.

Wendy Sparrow

Where all books have a happily ever after...

The Machenwood Chronicles and Other Tales

A site for writers and readers

Kait Nolan

Spicy Southern Comfort

J. Rose Books

Middle Grade Books | Fantasy Horror