Paradise: Found

23 09 2013

Underneath the veneer of this Paradise, the surf thrums. Its regularity relaxes me. The steadiness acts as the heartbeat of my vacation.
Blue water, reflecting sunlight and mirroring the azure sky above, swells against the reddish sand. With this pulse, life continues.
Images included with this post display the Paradise I view upon awaking and the last thing seen at night. In fact, I have spent many wee morning, pre-sun, hours on the lanai staring at the midnight waters rolling ashore.
The only plan for the day is a luau this evening. The Royal Lahaina Luau takes place about 10 minutes (via the rented Tahoe) south of my temporary home. A manicure may compel me to shower and dress this morning. Or I might just put on my bathing suit and stretch out beside the pool until lunch.
Thus, my definition of vacation becomes clear.
I sat by the pool in a rain shower yesterday. Most of the tourists fled the pool deck. I held my towel over my head (trying to preserve my hair) and let the warm beads refresh my skin. My husband plunged into the water.
Within three minutes, the rain tapered into a mist and the sun smiled on us again.
My definition of Paradise used to be a sunny place where it only rains at night. Now I know better. Paradise and Maui are synonymous.
If you think I’m squandering this week in Paradise by lounging by the pool instead of taking in the sights, never fear. Tomorrow is a snorkeling trip to nearby Lana’i with a 95 percent chance of catching sight of dolphins.
Wednesday morning is the sunrise on Haleakala followed by an 18 mile downhill bike ride. I hope to share pictures from said excursion in my Wordless Wednesday posting.
We have been shopping and will go shopping some more. After all, both Jeff and I had half-empty suitcases when we left home. It would be a crime not to remedy such a travesty.
What is your definition of Paradise?

20130923-081552.jpg

Actions

Information

4 responses

23 09 2013
Denise Roache

I am very fortunate to be living in Indonesia this year (having visited several times last year as my husband began working here unaccompanied) and Indonesia has some gorgeous spots.
Bali beyond Kuta is a joy! Last break we went north to the quieter beaches where the sun set over the water each night and the hawkers were barely able to summon much more than a beguiling smile as they sauntered past with the salty wares or colorful sarongs!
This weekend we are off to Pulau (Island) Langkawi in Malaysia for a week, where we are going to do a dive and seek some required R & R by the pool, in the ocean and checking out waterfalls and local cuisine…..paradise is tropical climate, great food, some swim time with a little shopping and at least a daily intake of a Pina Colada!!!

23 09 2013
sharonhughson

Denise-
Sounds like we are pretty much on the same page with our definition of Paradise. Hope you find the R&R you seek this next week.
Sharon

24 09 2013
Connie

Beautiful! both the photo and the descriptions! Paradise includes sun, warmth, water, beautiful scenery and my favorite person or people with me!

24 09 2013
sharonhughson

Yes, the people we are with determines whether the place is paradisiacal or not.

Share your thoughts here:

michelle ziegler

In a world of serious, I write an escape

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Janeen Ippolito - Speculative Fiction Author

Monsters, Misfits, and Mushy Stuff

Through the Gate

with Joe and Cathleen Parks

Roane Publishing Blog

Without authors, there'd be no publishers.

Raw Moments with a Real God

Being Transparent with an Intimate God

Chad Pettit

Writing, walking with God, and the pursuit of a well-deserved nap.

Becky Bean Writes

The Blog of Becky: How Not to Live Your Life

Bex Book Nook

Where books like to hang out.

Wendy Sparrow

Where all books have a happily ever after...

The Machenwood Chronicles and Other Tales

A site for writers and readers

Kait Nolan

smart. sassy. southern

J. Rose Books

Synchronicity...explored

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

The Mom Pages

Sharing The Mom Life One Page at a Time

Kelly Roberts Writing

Cooking with bubble wrap

YA Chit Chat

The Ponderings of YA author J. Keller Ford

Melissa Kircher

The official site of Melissa Kircher

Gwen Hernandez

Author or romantic suspense. Scrivener expert.

