Out with the Old and In with the New – Term that Is

7 11 2012

Yeah, the old YEAR will be gone soon, too.

Another eight-week term flew by while I was busy living life. That brings the countdown to four. Four terms left until I’ve earned my Bachelor’s Degree in English and Literature. A mere eight classes until a monumental task – for a woman of 40-something – is completed.

This term I’ve got my last required class for my professional writing minor – business communications. It’s a class all about writing memos and cover letters. This should be an easy breezy A. Of course, we all know what happens when I make assumptions like that.

In addition to this class is another literature class – of course! It’s a study in drama for me this term. I was slightly disappointed because I wanted to take the gender in literature class, but that filled up in two days. Crazy, I know.

Business Communications

This class marks a first time event for me – an electronic textbook. I could have purchased it in e-book format or I can just access it online for free. I’m sure you all can predict the choice this budget-conscious girlfriend made.

I’ve got the page bookmarked on my iPad and my computer. I foresee plenty of reading while on the treadmill in the future of this class.

Assignments for this class:

  • Read two chapters each week – on the iPad
  • Write a human resources policy memo and a bad news memo
  • Write an evaluation of nonverbal communication
  • Write about developing a presentation
  • Final project: a Power Point the sells me to a prospective employer

The intense research required for this class is to use the Internet to find a job I might be interested in having. I’ll gear my final project toward that “employer.”

Modern Drama

I know, the name of this class sounds somewhat like a day in the life at the middle school where I work. Alas, no! Instead, I rented four different books of plays and will be reading Sam Shepherd, Bertolt Brecht and Harold Pinter.

I’m not sure where I’m finding Major Barbara and The Brothers, which are listed as titles to read on the syllabus but are nowhere to be found within my little books of plays. Most likely, they will be available on the Internet – link provided by the professor, I hope.

Assignments for this class look a little more like something a senior should be doing:

  • Five short papers
  • A midterm exam
  • A final project which includes a paper and a Power Point

Not that I’m counting down or anything!

Did I mention that I only have six classes to go after I demolish these two classes? That demolition will happen just a couple days before Christmas. Is it wrong that I’m already imagining myself finishing up all this coursework and moving past it?

 

Actions

Information

Share your thoughts here:

michelle ziegler

In a world of serious, I write an escape

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Janeen Ippolito - Speculative Fiction Author

Monsters, Misfits, and Mushy Stuff

Through the Gate

with Joe and Cathleen Parks

Roane Publishing Blog

Without authors, there'd be no publishers.

Raw Moments with a Real God

Being Transparent with an Intimate God

Chad Pettit

Writing, walking with God, and the pursuit of a well-deserved nap.

Becky Bean Writes

The Blog of Becky: How Not to Live Your Life

Bex Book Nook

Where books like to hang out.

Wendy Sparrow

Where all books have a happily ever after...

The Machenwood Chronicles and Other Tales

A site for writers and readers

Kait Nolan

smart. sassy. southern

J. Rose Books

Synchronicity...explored

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

The Mom Pages

Sharing The Mom Life One Page at a Time

Kelly Roberts Writing

Cooking with bubble wrap

YA Chit Chat

The Ponderings of YA author J. Keller Ford

Melissa Kircher

The official site of Melissa Kircher

Gwen Hernandez

Author or romantic suspense. Scrivener expert.

