What Does a College Degree Mean?

24 10 2012

My stress level rises. Sleep eludes me while essay topics dance through my head, not in the least as enticing as sugar plums. I have no life outside of work and school.

Is getting a college degree worth all this and more?

By more, I mean thousands of dollars and hundreds of hours. Sleeplessness and weight gain and periods of despondency are all byproducts of pursuing this piece of paper.

What does having a college degree mean? Will it mean I’m smarter? Well, I will be, provided I don’t lose my mind in the process. Will it mean I deserve a better paying job? I hope to get one, so I hope so.

In a recent interview, the husband of my colleague said, “Some of the smartest people I’ve met don’t have college educations.”

It can probably be inferred that some of the most socially inept people I’ve met have advanced or multiple college degrees. They might be brainiacs but they wouldn’t survive for ten minutes on the street.

What does having a college degree mean to you? Complete my poll and comment if you have more insight to share.

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 10 2012
hakesplace

Reblogged this on Welcome to Hakes' Virtual Cafe and commented:
Today’s Winner in the “Education” Category! Fun poll at end of piece.

24 11 2012
No College Degree ? « YouViewed/Editorial

[…] What Does a College Degree Mean? (middleagedcoed.wordpress.com) […]

Share your thoughts here:

michelle ziegler

In a world of serious, I write an escape

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Janeen Ippolito - Speculative Fiction Author

Monsters, Misfits, and Mushy Stuff

Through the Gate

with Joe and Cathleen Parks

Roane Publishing Blog

Without authors, there'd be no publishers.

Raw Moments with a Real God

Being Transparent with an Intimate God

Chad Pettit

Writing, walking with God, and the pursuit of a well-deserved nap.

Becky Bean Writes

The Blog of Becky: How Not to Live Your Life

Bex Book Nook

Where books like to hang out.

Wendy Sparrow

Where all books have a happily ever after...

The Machenwood Chronicles and Other Tales

A site for writers and readers

Kait Nolan

love . empowerment. hope

J. Rose Books

Synchronicity...explored

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

The Mom Pages

Sharing The Mom Life One Page at a Time

Kelly Roberts Writing

Cooking with bubble wrap

YA Chit Chat

The Ponderings of YA author J. Keller Ford

Melissa Kircher

The official site of Melissa Kircher

