Interview Blues

6 10 2012

Writing feature stories provokes me to love and hate. If it weren’t for the requirement of interviewing several sources, I could send my hatred packing.

Love:

I love doing interviews. People like to talk about themselves. If you ask the right question (a fine art in and of itself), you might get enough goods for stories on five different subjects.

Hate:

I hate interviews. It’s difficult to find time in my overloaded schedule, so I have to fight the urge to look at my watch. Typing out the script afterwards is just a complete bummer. This is when a fast typing transcriptionist would really be a welcome addition to my staff.

Oh yeah, I don’t have a staff.

This sort of love-hate teeter totter keeps things interesting in the world of all work and no play. It might be smart to remove sharp objects from my reach, just to be on the safe side.

Back to feature story writing: interviews are an integral part of any feature. These quotations and anecdotes make the story come to life. My fantastic use of prose and ability to wordsmith believable narrative isn’t highly desirable in journalistic writing.

Is it any wonder I want to write fiction?

I did interviews for my novel, too. All three of my point of view characters sat down and told me anything I ever wanted to know about them. Probably more that I needed to know.

According to my character building guru, K.M. Weiland, there’s no such thing as knowing too much about your characters. I highly recommend her Crafting Unforgettable Characters workbook. It launched my protagonists from my mind to the page, which is where they need to be for readers to fall in love with them.

What’s your experience with interviews? Love them? Hate them? Never done them? If you’re a writer, I recommend you sit down with your main character over a nice hot mocha. They’ve got something to say.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 10 2012
likeitiz

It’s a love-hate relationship, you’re right! C’est la vie! All in all, it’s fun, really.

6 10 2012
sharonhughson

I’ve actually learned more by interviewing my characters. Wish I had more time to write the novel, but, alas, I have to write up that interview and then the story for my college class. At least I’m writing…

Share your thoughts here:

michelle ziegler

In a world of serious, I write an escape

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Janeen Ippolito - Speculative Fiction Author

Monsters, Misfits, and Mushy Stuff

Through the Gate

with Joe and Cathleen Parks

Roane Publishing Blog

Without authors, there'd be no publishers.

Raw Moments with a Real God

Being Transparent with an Intimate God

Chad Pettit

Writing, walking with God, and the pursuit of a well-deserved nap.

Becky Bean Writes

The Blog of Becky: How Not to Live Your Life

Bex Book Nook

Where books like to hang out.

Wendy Sparrow

Where all books have a happily ever after...

The Machenwood Chronicles and Other Tales

A site for writers and readers

Kait Nolan

love . empowerment. hope

J. Rose Books

Synchronicity...explored

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

The Mom Pages

Sharing The Mom Life One Page at a Time

Kelly Roberts Writing

Cooking with bubble wrap

YA Chit Chat

The Ponderings of YA author J. Keller Ford

Melissa Kircher

The official site of Melissa Kircher

