Why Can’t Anything Be Easy?

19 09 2012

Celebrate the accomplishment!

If you’re like me, you hear these words (or some semblance of them) multiple times in a day. After all, we live in a society where we can “talk” to anyone in the world with a few button pushes of our smart phone. We’re all about “convenience” as proven by the cookbook “Dinner in 5 Minutes.”

I keep thinking that at some point this whole juggling act I’ve been trying to maintain for the past two years will get easier. I’ll be able to snap off a few feature stories without exerting too much extra effort. After all, I’ve done plenty of research and interviewing for past classes, and that should be up for “re-gifting” in this course. I’ve got important personal writing goals to meet!

I keep learning that things aren’t easy. As my mother always said, “If it’s worth having, it’s worth working hard for.” Yes, those words are accurate, astute and wise. But just this once…

No, that isn’t what I really want. I’m tired (of school and work, not to mention just physically in need of sleep). I’ve been so excited to finally be writing a novel again, and now I’ll have to sacrifice some of that time to spend doing research and interviews for these feature stories.

Do I really want this college degree to be easy? (Okay, you know I just had to put my hand over my mouth because I was blurting, “YES” and that doesn’t fit into the thesis of this post.) When I finally finish these classes (and the 7 more to follow) and receive a college diploma, life is going to feel sweet. It will be an epic attainment because it’s been a Mt. Everest ordeal.

Thousands of dollars and hundreds of hours later, this college degree means many things to me. If it could be acquired easily, would it be as valuable? Remember the movie Blood Diamonds? Apparently, diamonds aren’t nearly as rare and hard to find as the owners of those diamond mines want us to believe. That’s why they keep billions of dollars’ worth of diamonds locked in a vault and only sprinkle the market with a small portion of them. If they were all available at once, they wouldn’t be worth very much.

Blood, sweat, tears – brain cells, stress hormones, savings accounts: these things lend value to my college degree.

What do you think? Have you easily attained something and then later found it worthless? Do you think some things aren’t worth the struggle? Your opinions matter to me.

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 09 2012
likeitiz

Yes, nothing good comes easy. Yes, the degree will be worth it as the deep internal satisfaction of thing accomplished. Yes, I like your mother. And no, diamonds are all about hype.

22 09 2012
sharonhughson

Thanks for commenting.
I didn’t mean to vent or whine. Every now and again it would be nice if things went smoothly. Of course, do we notice the smooth sailing? Or only the bumps in the road?

Share your thoughts here:

michelle ziegler

In a world of serious, I write an escape

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Janeen Ippolito - Speculative Fiction Author

Monsters, Misfits, and Mushy Stuff

Through the Gate

with Joe and Cathleen Parks

Roane Publishing Blog

Without authors, there'd be no publishers.

Raw Moments with a Real God

Being Transparent with an Intimate God

Chad Pettit

Writing, walking with God, and the pursuit of a well-deserved nap.

Becky Bean Writes

The Blog of Becky: How Not to Live Your Life

Bex Book Nook

Where books like to hang out.

Wendy Sparrow

Where all books have a happily ever after...

The Machenwood Chronicles and Other Tales

A site for writers and readers

Kait Nolan

love . empowerment. hope

J. Rose Books

Synchronicity...explored

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

The Mom Pages

Sharing The Mom Life One Page at a Time

Kelly Roberts Writing

Cooking with bubble wrap

YA Chit Chat

The Ponderings of YA author J. Keller Ford

Melissa Kircher

The official site of Melissa Kircher

