Back to School Blues

21 08 2012

August unravels like my incredibly unskilled crocheting. For those of us who work in education, it means time to get back to work. Everyone who has school-aged children has to hit the store for supplies and clothes, while listening to either grumbles or excited chatter.

Photo Compliments of inspirestock

What I find completely ironic is that I always looked forward to September – until I started working full-time at the school. Starting another year in school when I was young enough to be someone else’s responsibility beckoned to my love of learning. When I first started working for the school district, I yearned for the regular schedules, as well. (Of course, it could have had more to do with getting my sons back to a regular routine.)

Now, the most exciting thing on the horizon is that this should be my last year as a classroom assistant. I will complete my degree in June and race heartily after my dream of writing.

Things I’m not looking forward to:

  • Getting up at 5am
  • Exercising indoors. I’ve really been enjoying walking and running outside in the fresh, quiet mornings.
  • Dealing with teenagers being disrespectful. It seems to get worse with each passing year. Where do they learn this stuff?
  • Being back in the middle of the politics of school budget cuts

Things I like about going back to school:

  • Getting up at 5am ( I know I said it was something I wasn’t looking forward to doing, but the truth is, once I get used to the earliness of it, I love the quietness of it.)
  • Having a set schedule. I get so much more accomplished. I’m working on a schedule that will include time for writing – blog entries and my novel.
  • Working with teenagers. I mean, they are so vivid and lively. How can you not appreciate being alive when you’re around them? Sure, they’re cranky and prone to dramatic overreactions, but they make me laugh hard enough to bust my spleen.
  • Appreciating my weekends. In the summer, everyday could be Saturday and so that means there really isn’t any differentiation between the tasks on any given day. I like that Saturday is for certain activities and so is Sunday.
  • Having my house back. I love my boys and I’ve enjoyed having them home and spending time with them, but I really like owning my personal time. Jeff is the least demanding husband in the world, so when the boys aren’t here, I get to choose my pursuits (yeah, once the homework and housework are done) without anyone’s input.

Anyone who knows me knows that summer is my favorite season. I live to be outside in the sunshine. Right now, my fingers are freezing because the air conditioning is running. Sure, I’ll be glad for the cool air when I try to sleep later, but I’ll be heading out to sweat in the sunshine as soon as I finish typing this.

Me grinning in the sun

Sunshine makes me smile – Cheshire Cat wide! This means that the worst thing about going back to school: summer is over.

Actions

Information

Share your thoughts here:

michelle ziegler

In a world of serious, I write an escape

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Janeen Ippolito - Speculative Fiction Author

Monsters, Misfits, and Mushy Stuff

Through the Gate

with Joe and Cathleen Parks

Roane Publishing Blog

Without authors, there'd be no publishers.

Raw Moments with a Real God

Being Transparent with an Intimate God

Chad Pettit

Writing, walking with God, and the pursuit of a well-deserved nap.

Becky Bean Writes

The Blog of Becky: How Not to Live Your Life

Bex Book Nook

Where books like to hang out.

Wendy Sparrow

Where all books have a happily ever after...

The Machenwood Chronicles and Other Tales

A site for writers and readers

Kait Nolan

love . empowerment. hope

J. Rose Books

Synchronicity...explored

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

The Mom Pages

Sharing The Mom Life One Page at a Time

Kelly Roberts Writing

Cooking with bubble wrap

YA Chit Chat

The Ponderings of YA author J. Keller Ford

Melissa Kircher

The official site of Melissa Kircher

