Summer Term

3 07 2012

Yep, my keyboard might be put to better use as a pillow just now

I sit frozen with my hands poised over the keyboard. I’m supposed to be writing a trio of story openings. I’m supposed to be writing my novel so it can be read to real live teenagers in the fall.

The sun occasionally peeks from behind the mountainous heaps of gray clouds. It’s like a tip of the lips from your neighbor in response to your smile. The weatherman promises predicts a warm, sunny Independence Day, but in the great Northwest, we’ve learned to give as much credence to that as a politician’s campaign platform.

Where has my inspiration gone? Is it hiding with the sunshine? Did it flee to avoid the pounding inside my head? Whose bright idea was it to give up coffee anyway? My doctor said one cup per day would keep my migraines away.

I’ve actually written two of the three opening scenes. One is the opening of my novel and the second is the opening for chapter two. I was going to try to start one of the assignments for later in the term, but my mind is swimming with Aura’s quest.

Of course, we leave on Saturday morning for a week in Colorado and I know I’m not going to get much writing accomplished while I’m there. It won’t be because the friends we are visiting won’t allow it but because I want a break. I deserve a break (don’t I?)

Now Jeff tells me he’s going to Munich, Germany in August for his job. I really want to go with him. Aside from the fact that we can’t really afford a $1500 airline ticket, he’s going during finals week. Hurray! That really isn’t the best week for me to be side-tracked from school work (supposing I actually get ON track with it at some point).

I keep telling myself that at this time next year, I’ll be done with college. I’ll be able to take a vacation from anything resembling work. Sometimes relaxation is the most muse-inspiring activity of all. However, just thinking about relaxing isn’t helping rev me up for writing.

Positive words of encouragement anyone?

Actions

Information

Share your thoughts here:

michelle ziegler

In a world of serious, I write an escape

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Janeen Ippolito - Speculative Fiction Author

Monsters, Misfits, and Mushy Stuff

Through the Gate

with Joe and Cathleen Parks

Roane Publishing Blog

Without authors, there'd be no publishers.

Raw Moments with a Real God

Being Transparent with an Intimate God

Chad Pettit

Writing, walking with God, and the pursuit of a well-deserved nap.

Becky Bean Writes

The Blog of Becky: How Not to Live Your Life

Bex Book Nook

Where books like to hang out.

Wendy Sparrow

Where all books have a happily ever after...

The Machenwood Chronicles and Other Tales

A site for writers and readers

Kait Nolan

love . empowerment. hope

J. Rose Books

Synchronicity...explored

Jennifer M Eaton

Author, Weaver of Tales

The Mom Pages

Sharing The Mom Life One Page at a Time

Kelly Roberts Writing

Cooking with bubble wrap

YA Chit Chat

The Ponderings of YA author J. Keller Ford

Melissa Kircher

The official site of Melissa Kircher

